Home / Membership / Honorary Members

Honorary Members

Since early in its history the Sacred Dance Guild has occasionally recognized individuals who have made significant and lasting contributions to dance as a sacred art. These individuals are:

The SDG honours its past as it dances into the future.
The SDG honours its past as it dances into the future.
Mary Anthony

Forrest Coggan

Carla De Sola

Jean Erdman

Jess Meeker

Ted Shawn

Ruth St. Denis

The Sacred Dance Guild has also recognized individuals for their specific contributions to the Sacred Dance Guild and between the years of 1979 and 2002 the Sacred Dance Guild made each outgoing President an honorary member. These individuals are:

Judy Barnett
SDG President, 1998

Ann Marie Blessin
SDG President 1993-1995

Susan Cole
SDG President 1982-1983

Maxine DeBruyn
SDG President 1971-1974

JoAnn Flanigan
SDG President 1996-1998

Barrie Gibby
SDG President 1984-1986

Toni Intravaia
Founding member, SDG Journal Editor 1972-2010

Karen Josephson
SDG President 1999-2002 and 2007

Carlynn Reed
SDG President 1979-1981

Dana Schlegel
SDG Secretary 1978-1981

Fenna Stoub
SDG President 1987-1989

Mary Jane Wolbers
Founding member, SDG President 1961-1962

All Honorary members receive a complimentary lifetime membership (value of $1,000 USD) to the Sacred Dance Guild. Honorary members may be nominated by SDG members, and are confirmed by the SDG’s board of directors.